I have decided to sell my lovely FTO

I’ve decided that the time has come to sell my lovely FTO, so if you’re looking for a beautiful sports car for peanuts then carry on reading!

I’ve decided to sell because I feel I’m in a different phase of my life now, and while I’d be happy to have a weekend car, unfortunately this isn’t possible for me. I’ve had the car for just over three years, and in that time have driven it a fair bit, but relentlessly looked after it too, with little concern for cost.

Like any fifteen year old car, it has its supermarket dings, chips and spots of rust, but it still turns heads and pulls like a train. Mechanically it’s very sound, thanks to it being my hobby and me being a bit obsessive about looking after it.

So here are its details:

  • 2001 Facelift Ralliart Mitsubishi FTO GPX in Passion Red
  • Manual gearbox
  • 17″ Wolfrace alloys
  • mongoose stainless cat-back exhaust
  • 197 BHP MIVEC Engine (193 on rolling road)
  • Multipoint Stag LPG conversion
  • 232,000 miles

I’ve done a million things to it to keep it running and have a rather thick pile of invoices for parts and services. I guess the highlights are:

  • Major service (60K) done at Eurospec at 173K including cambelt
  • Gearbox and clutch replaced two years ago.
  • New inner and outer CV joints and covers fitted
  • replaced downpipes
  • Mongoose stainless cat-back exhaust with 4″ pipe
  • LPG conversion done by Profess
  • Front seats replaced with new leather/Racaro cloth versions
  • MOT until September 2015
  • Ferodo DS2500 front brake pads with refurbed calipers, braided hoses and discs fitted
  • Mintex rear pads with new discs and braided hoses
  • three brand new tyres with about 1k on them
  • Tappets adjusted regularly
  • New main and air con radiator
  • all new strut top mounts
  • obsessive servicing using best quality oil and filters
  • throttle body refurbed
  • inner and outer steering tie rods replaced including gators
  • Full Hunter suspension alignment done regularly

I guess that’s the best of it all, now the bad points:

  • 232,000 miles on the clock
  • Lots of stone chips on paintwork at front
  • Rear light cluster has moisture in it sometimes
  • a couple of very small areas of rust on the rear chassis legs which i have treated
  • some minor bubbling on the rear arches
  • LPG runs a little rough when cold
  • wheels need a refurb
  • slight rattle from the rear passenger shock (could be something in the boot though!)

Other note worthy things for me to cover are that the LPG tank sits in the boot where the spare tyre was, I still have the spare tyre and jack, but don’t keep it in the boot, so carry a can of tyre weld. I will provide the USB cable for the LPG controller so you can make adjustments, or let Profess do their remote service. On LPG the 54l tank will give you about 310 miles and right now cost about £35 to fill up. You can always switch to petrol if you like, but for the most part performance is very similar.

Finally this is a beautiful car that will make you feel alive when you drive it, people will stop to watch you pass, and it’ll make you feel unique and show you the meaning of passion. It’s something special that’s for sure, and it’ll make you feel the same.

I’m asking just £1600 ono! Contact me using the form below if you’re interested.

Here’s a load of pics!

IMG_2388 IMG_2383

IMG_2354IMG_2355IMG_2356IMG_2357

IMG_2386 IMG_2385 IMG_2384 IMG_2381 IMG_2380 IMG_2374 IMG_2373 IMG_2370 IMG_2358 IMG_2362 IMG_2364 IMG_2369 IMG_2391

This entry was posted in FTO and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment